File under things never to buy again…

I think that my iron is low.  I’ve been thinking about meat all week.  Steak, hamburgers, meatloaf – you name it.  At the grocery store today I saw some ground beef and decided to go off the menu plan for the week (yes, I now have a meal plan for the week, otherwise I invariably end up with no dinner on Wednesday and Thursday).  I decided to make tacos since we had pretty much everything we needed at home already.  Except, as I later realized, the damn taco seasoning.

So, rather than go back to the store, I turned to my trusty friend the internet, and I now feel like the biggest idiot ever.  I found a recipe for taco seasoning on, and figured that the 63,000 or so people who had given the recipe 5 stars couldn’t be TOO wrong.  For the record, I am never, never buying taco seasoning again.  EVER. Great flavor, and the heat doesn’t hit you at first, you just get a lovely little heat-y-ness in the back of your throat shortly after each bite.  Kind of like poprocks, but I digress.

Taco Seasoning I from

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder (I used 1/2 T regular and 1/2 T ancho chile powder)
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder (I didn’t have this, so I just moved on)
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Mix it all together.  I used about 1 T per lb of meat.   Keep any leftover seasoning in an airtight container.  Makes about 1 oz.

Am I the only one who never thought to make her own taco seasoning before?  YUM.


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

